El Salvador flag colors symbolism
    El Salvador flag colors meaning
    The two cobalt blue bands symbolize the Pacific Ocean and the Caribbean Sea
    The white band symbolizes the land between the two bodies of water and represents peace and prosperity
    The fourteen parts of the laurel wreath symbolize the 14 Departaments, the Salvadoran subnational administrative units.
    El Salvador flag symbolism

    El Salvador flag emblem
    El Salvador flag meaning
    The coat of arms of El Salvador consists of a bold golden amber triangle outline, in which a row starting from the left side, of five mighty and proud green forested coned volcanoes, depicting a tropical Jurassic landscape, rise out of the massive cobalt blue pacific ocean swells, symbolizing the fellowship of the five original isthmian member states of the United Provinces of Central America. The volcanoes are all illuminated yellow on their right side by sunshine. Above the volcanoes is a crimson red Phrygian cap on a staff before an amber sun with spiraling swirling rays, with a brilliant volcanic "red sky at morning" under the sun in the horizon. The date (15 September 1821), Independence Day of El Salvador, in black letters over the sun, midway a top there is a rainbow arch in an azure sky which Biblically symbolizes peace. The colors in the rainbow usually depict from top to bottom five colors only: red, orange, yellow, green, and blue. Behind the triangle there are five cobalt blue and white striped flags representing the flags of the Federal Republic of Central America, one flag is risen straight up behind and over the triangle, hanging loosely around the spear, and the other four flags are risen half way and stretch out far like wings from behind the triangle sides, two on each side, one over another, the flags hang loosely on their sides, creating almost a horn-like effect with their ends being tied up behind the triangle's bottom. Under the triangle, there is a golden Amber (color) scroll which states the national motto of El Salvador: Dios, Unión, Libertad (Span., "God, Union, Liberty") in capital and bold black letters. All of this is surrounded by a green Laurel wreath, which is tied together with a cobalt blue and white striped ribbon of the national flag symbolizing unity. The laurel wreath is divided into 14 different parts, which symbolize the 14 Departaments, the Salvadoran subnational administrative units. All this is surrounded by golden Amber letters, which form the Spanish words REPÚBLICA DE EL SALVADOR EN LA AMÉRICA CENTRAL (meaning "Republic of El Salvador in Central America") in capital and bold letters.
    El Salvador flag - Page 2 of 3
    El Salvador flag

    World Flags